Ship sail

How to Earn a Legendary Ship Title in Sea of ​​Thieves

The Captaincy update for Sea of ​​Thieves Season 7 truly lets players become pirates of legend. Players can steer their own ships and give them a name that suits the life of a pirate. The captain and named ship are blessed with infamy, like Blackbeard and Queen Anne’s Revenge.

youtube cover

All of this can happen with a little help from a legendary ship title. This can be achieved when any alignment of Captain’s Log milestones for a commanded ship reaches a class level of 50.

How to Get a Legendary Ship Title in Sea of ​​Thieves

A pirate ship is one of the most intimidating sights at sea (Image via Rare)
A pirate ship is one of the most intimidating sights at sea (Image via Rare)

Players must purchase a Sloop, Brig, or Galleon with the Captaincy Update. They must then name the ship and set sail with it to begin the process of earning the Legendary Ship title.

Any commanded ship will have the Captain’s Log available in the Captain’s Quarters. It rests on the travel table and players must interact with it to view various milestones.

Milestones are cumulative quests that pirates can complete in Sea of ​​Thieves. They can range from navigating a specific distance to sinking a number of enemy ships.

Milestone alignments are a bit different, as they are more like categories of certain milestones. These alignments are often tied to how players simply approach Sea of ​​Thieves.

Completing a stage in a certain alignment will increase its class level. An example is the Gold Seeker alignment. Earning gold, spending gold, and selling treasure are all milestones that are part of this alignment.

Completing 50 milestones in an alignment will bring a commissioned ship to class 50. This will reward pirates with that milestone alignment’s legendary ship title. Players can earn them naturally or focus on a lineup to win a specific title.

All legendary ship titles and how to use them in Sea of ​​Thieves

A look at the milestone alignments (Image via Rare)
A look at the milestone alignments (Image via Rare)

There are currently seven legendary ship titles in Sea of ​​Thieves. The titles are as follows:

  • The legendary gold digger
  • The legendary traveler
  • The Legendary Emissary
  • The Legendary Hunter
  • The dreaded legendary
  • The Legendary Thief
  • The legendary unfortunate

Once one has been obtained, players can head to the My Ships section of the game’s main menu or to the shipbuilder of any outpost while in a live session.

In the ship menu, players can access ship decorations. Instead of customizing the captain’s quarters, they must select the Ship’s Titles option. This is where any title can be added to the ship.

Find the legendary ship title you want to use and select it. Confirm adding it to the ship, and it’ll be affixed to the front of the ship’s name, giving it the Legendary subtitle of sorts.

Now other pirates around the world will know that the ship has legendary status and will more than likely think twice before engaging it in combat.

Edited by Soumyadyuti Ghosh

Profile Picture