Ship part

How to watch Spacex launch a freighter to the ISS this week

This week, SpaceX will launch an unmanned freighter to deliver supplies to the International Space Station (ISS). The launch will take place on Tuesday, December 21 and will be televised live by NASA. We have all the details on how to look at home.

The Cargo Dragon spacecraft will be packed with 6,500 pounds of cargo, including science experiments to be performed on the space station. This will be SpaceX’s third launch using a Falcon 9 rocket in three days, after two launches this weekend.

What to expect from the launch

SpaceX’s Cargo Dragon spacecraft, seen on top of a Falcon 9 rocket, on the launch pad at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida on August 24, 2021, in preparation for the 23rd Commercial Resupply Services mission of the company. EspaceX

The Cargo Dragon will be launched on a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket from Launch Complex 39A at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida.

After launch, the Cargo Dragon will separate from the rocket approximately 12 minutes after takeoff and begin a series of thruster maneuvers to transport it to the space station, where it will dock at the forward-facing port of the Harmony module of the station.

The Dragon will remain docked at the station for about a month, and then it will be recharged with the completed experiments to be returned to Earth.

How to watch the launch live

Coverage of the launch is scheduled to begin on Tuesday, December 21 at 4:45 a.m. ET (1:45 a.m. PT) with the launch itself scheduled for 5:06 a.m. ET (2:06 a.m. PT).

The craft will then travel to the International Space Station throughout Tuesday, and you can tune into coverage again early Wednesday morning to see it dock with the ISS.

If you’re interested in learning more about the launch and the scientific research heading to the space station, there’s also a pre-launch press conference you can tune into on Monday, December 20. It airs at noon ET (9:00 a.m. PT) on Monday.

You can watch it all either by going to the NASA website or by using the embedded video at the top of this page.

Editor’s recommendations